top of page
Search

SETTING UP AND USING YOUR LEDGER NANO S OR X

Updated: Jul 5, 2021



This is for those of you who have asked how to transfer crypto to your Ledger, it's a very simple process. I've went out of my way to explain many crypto-related things to many people online. I would greatly appreciate it if you can answer simple questions for others who ask, if it's something I've already taught you or showed you in the past. I don't always have time to help everyone who asks, so If you are someone I have helped, please pass on the good energy and help another person if you know the answer to their question.


FIRST AND FOREMOST. NEVER BUY YOUR LEDGER OR OTHER HARDWARE WALLETS FROM ANY SITE OTHER THAN THE MANUFACTURER THEMSELVES. DO NOT BUY FROM AMAZON OR EBAY OR ANY 3RD PARTY SITE. THIS IS BECAUSE THERE HAVE BEEN PEOPLE WHO PURCHASE THESE HARWARE WALLETS, WHO HACK THEM AND LEAVE A "BACKDOOR" HACKING POINT INSTALLED IN THEM. THEY THEN TURN AROUND AND SELL THEM ON AMAZON AND EBAY, AND THEY WAIT UNTIL YOUR CRYPTO BECOMES VALUABLE AND THEY SIMPLY LOG INTO YOUR WALLET AND STEAL IT FROM YOU. THE ONLY WAY YOU CAN GUARENTEE THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN IS BY PURCHASING DIRECTLY FROM THE MANUFACTURER, AS THEY CHECK EACH UNIT TO MAKE SURE IT HAS NOT BEEN TAMPERED WITH. IF YOU'VE ALREADY BOUGHT ONE FROM AMAZON OR EBAY OR ANOTHER WEBSITE, YOU ARE LITERALLY PLAYING WITH YOUR FUTURE, IF YOU PLAN ON HOLDING XRP FOR THE LONG-HAUL.


When you buy a Ledger and run the setup for the first time with a desktop computer, it literally gives you step by step directions to set it up and get it ready to receive your crypto.

You have to do the initial setup where you write down the 24 word passphrase, which is literally the only way you can re-access your crypto in the future if something happens to your Ledger. The idea is that if your Ledger was to break or get burned in a fire, or simply lost, you can use your 24 word passphrase on a new Ledger or any hardware wallet that works with the 24 word passphrase.. and it will allow you to access your crypto. The main thing to understand is that you cannot lose this passphrase or you will be screwed. People have different ways of storing this info. I can share with you what I've done, and maybe you will find it helpful...


I wrote down my passphrase (its randomly generated by Ledgers software) on a piece of paper. I triple checked that it was correct and I wrote it down on the 3 cards that Ledger provides you when you open the box. Once I was finished setting up my Ledger Nano X on the computer, I disconnected from the internet and I typed my passphrase (that I had already written down multiple times) into Microsoft Word. I saved the file as a PDF and I had already purchased 5 1GB flash drives which I would use to store my passphrase. I inserted all of the 1GB flash drives and I transferred the small PDF file to each one. I then removed all of the drives, and deleted the PDF from my hard drive before connecting back to the internet. I use an application called "shredder" which literally deletes the file so it cannot ever be retrieved, but many people will just delete it from their hard drive.

I named each of my flash drives something random that would never link back to what the actual purpose was. You can use something like "Sunday Church Services" or "Mom's 15th Wedding Anniversary" etc. Make sure you do this and that you don't name it "Ledger Nano X Passphrase," this way it doesn't give up the purpose of your flash drive if one was ever recovered by another person. Now that I had my passphrase backups on 5 1GB flash drives, I placed them in different places that I consider safe. Maybe give one to a family member to hold onto in case of an emergency.

The point here is that you need to go out of your way to create a failsafe method of storing this passphrase, because if you simply lose it.. and your crypto holdings end up being worth hundreds of thousands or millions... you will lose everything and never be able to access your crypto again. Please exercise caution with this step.. it's one of the most important things you can do to solidify your investments.


Now, back to the actual process.


When you plug your hardware wallet into your computer and install the Ledger Live software, the passphrase will be auto generated. You write it down and either follow what I did above or come up with your own failsafe storage method. Ledger will ask you to hold your device and select the random words in the order that you wrote them down. You have to use the left and right buttons on your actual device to do this. You can learn what the buttons mean by reading the directions that are included with your Ledger.


This is so Ledger can ensure that you have the correct passcode. Once this is done and you've verified your passcode, you can move on to the next step of the setup. I believe this is where they ask you to create a 6 or more digit numerical passcode. This passcode is what you will use to unlock your Ledger, any time you need it. The 24 word passphrase is only used to recover your crypto if your unit breaks, but the 6 or more digit numerical passcode will be used every time you need to unlock your Ledger for a number of reasons.


Again, I set my Ledger up a long time ago, so forgive me if I've reversed the steps that they have you complete. They might ask you to create the numerical passcode first... or visa versa. It's been a while.. so I can't remember which order they have you do the above. The way Ledger designed the setup is very user friendly, it is a very simple process.

Once both passcodes are set and verified, I believe that the next step is where they walk you through the process of setting up the type of wallet you will be using. When I say "type of wallet," what I mean is the actual crypto's you will be sending. Ledger is compatible with tons of cryptos, so if it's XRP that you are looking to send to your Ledger, you will have to select XRP from the wallet installation list. Again, the installation literally walks you through this process. Once you've installed your XRP wallet on the Ledger, you will be ready to send and receive XRP.


Ledger (and many other hardware wallets) work with a phone and computer application. For Ledger specifically, it is called "Ledger Live." This is so you can safely store your Ledger in a safe or hidden place, and never have to pull it out unless you are planning on sending crypto off of your Ledger, which is a rare occurrence if you are holding XRP for the long-haul. You would only send XRP off of your Ledger to a popular crypto exchange if you were planning on cashing a portion of it out for fiat. If you needed to send some to a friend of family member, you would also take out your physical Ledger to do this.


The reason you need physical access to your Ledger to send crypto to another wallet, is because Ledger makes you approve the transaction before it will allow the crypto to be sent. This way there is no bullshit. You either have your numerical passcode (because you are the rightful owner of the ledger).. or you don't. If you give your passwords away to someone you trust who later steals your crypto... don't even bother calling Ledger to complain. There is nothing they can do. Think of it as if you are controlling a trust of your own crypto assets. It is 100% on you to ensure that every safety precaution was taken.


After you have setup your XRP wallet on your Ledger, it will generate a "Receiving Address" for you which is unique to your wallet and your wallet only. This is the address you will use when sending your crypto from Uphold or any other exchange to your wallet. This address will never change and it will always be used anytime you want to send crypto to your Ledger. NOW... DO NOT FORGET THAT YOU CAN ONLY SEND XRP TO YOUR XRP LEDGER WALLET ADDRESS. IF YOU SETUP ANOTHER CRYPTO WALLET ON YOUR LEDGER (I.E. ETHEREUM) AND YOU SEND YOUR XRP TO YOUR ETHEREUM ADDRESS, IT WILL BE GONE FOREVER AND NOT RECOVERABLE. DO NOT RUSH WHEN SENDING YOURSELF CRYTPO FROM AN EXCHANGE. YOU WILL SERIOUSLY REGRET THROWING AWAY MONEY AND CRYPTO THAT CAN POTENTIALLY BE WORTH HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS OF DOLLARS IN THE NEAR FUTURE.

And that, is basically it my friends. If you don't understand how to send XRP from Uphold.. to get to the screen where it asks you to paste your XRP address (from your Ledger), then please do what the rest of us have done, and research "How To Send XRP From Uphold To My Ledger" on YouTube and follow the instructions.


Once your XRP has been received on your Ledger, you will be able to open the Ledger Live app on your computer or phone (or both) and see that it has been received. Your Ledger will keep track of the amount of XRP you are holding, and the current value of your holdings.



1,020 views5 comments
[T]ruth [B]reaks [T]he [M]atrix dot COM


Truth Breaks The Matrix, 2022, All Rights Reserved

bottom of page